Do you have any doubt whether your car is eligible to drive with Uber in Sydney? You should know that most cars with 4-doors are eligible, however, specific requirements vary by service or vehicle options.

In Sydney you can choose 7 types of vehicle options that you can drive as an individual Uber driver-partner, which include UberX, UberAssist, UberBLACK, UberXL, UberSELECT, UberBLACK SUV and UberLUX. You can read more about this vehicle options in Uber Australia post.

Every vehicle option offered by Uber in Sydney has its own rates. The cheapest option is UberX, an economy ride and the most expensive option is UberSUVs and UberLUX with rates twice as high as the economy option.

If you are interested in driving with UberX services at the moment, you don’t have to be anxious since most newer cars are qualified. In case you just bought a car in two or three years ago, you will have no difficulty getting approved, as long as your vehicle meets the ridesharing vehicle requirements in Sydney that we have published before.

Sign Up

doordash driver app logo

Join now while registration is open!


  • Free! NCC Background Check (worth $40). Start to deliver at no cost.
  • Overseas licence holders and P platers are welcome.
  • Fast Pay – Daily Cash out your earnings in minutes

Become a Dasher

For your info, in the Uber Driver app, there is a Trip Types preference that allows you to choose vehicle options.

To illustrate, the owner of the Tesla Model X can enroll their vehicle for UberSUV. But driver-partners are given an option to be able to receive several Trip Types which include UberX, UberSELECT, UberBLACK, UberLUX and UberXL.

Uber Eligible Car based on Vehicle Options

Listed below are samples of some car models (but not limited to the list below) that you can use to drive with Uber in Sydney. Most cars are the same vehicles that you usually see on the road.

Vehicle Options Car Models
UberX Ford – Falcon, Focus, Mondeo
Holden – Captiva, Commodore, Cruze
Honda – Accord, Civic, CR-V, Jazz
Hyundai – Accent, Elantra, i30
Kia – Cerato, Sportage
Mazda – CX5, Mazda3
Mitsibishi – Lancer, Outlander
Nissan – Dualis, Pulsar, X-trail
Toyota – Aurion, Camry, Corolla, Kluger, Prius, Rav4, Yaris
Volkswagen – Golf
UberSELECT Alfa Romeo – 159, Giulietta (2012 or newer)
Audi – A4, A4 Avant, A5, A5 Avant, A6, A6 Avant, A7, A8, including A8 L, Q3, Q5, Q7, Q9, RS 4, RS 5, RS 6, RS 7, RS Q3, S4, S4 Avant, S5, S6, S7, S8, SQ5
Bentley – Continental
BMW – 3-series, 4-series Gran Coupe, 5-series (includes 5-series Gran Turismo), 6-series Gran Coupe, 7-series, Alpina B7, M3, M5, M6 Gran Coupe, X3, X5, X6
Cadillac – Escalade (2015 or newer)
Chrysler – 300
Genesis – G80, G90
Holden – Caprice, Grange, Statesman
Hummer – H3 (2012 or newer)
Hyundai – Genesis
Infiniti – FX (2012 or newer), Q50 (includes Q50L) (2012 or newer), Q70 (2012 or newer), QX50 (2012 or newer), QX70 (2012 or newer)
Jaguar – F-PACE, X-Type, XE, XF, XJ, XJR
Jeep – Grand Cherokee
Land Rover – Discovery, Freelander (2012 or newer), LR2 (2012 or newer) , Range Rover (includes Evoque, Sport and Vogue)
Lexus – ES, GS, GX, IS, LS, NX, RX
Lincoln – Continental (2017 or newer)
Maserati – Levante, Quattroporte
Mercedes-Benz – B-Class, C-Class, CLA-Class, CLS-Class, E-Class (includes Wagon), G-Class , GL-Class, GLA-Class, GLC-Class, GLE-Class, GLS-Class, M-Class, ML-Class, R-Class, S-Class, V-Class, Valente, Viano
Porsche – Cayenne, Macan (includes Macan Turbo), Panamera
Skoda – Superb (includes Superb Combi) (2012 or newer)
Subaru – Liberty (2015 or newer)
Tesla – Model 3, Model S, Model X
Toyota – Kluger (2013 or newer), Prado (2012 or newer)
Volkswagen – CC (2012 or newer), Passat (2012 or newer), Touareg (2012 or newer)
Volvo – S60 (2012 or newer), S80 (2012 or newer), XC60 (2012 or newer), XC70 (2012 or newer), XC90 (2012 or newer)
UberASSIST Ford – Falcon, Focus, Mondeo
Holden – Captiva, Commodore, Cruze
Honda – Accord, Civic, CR-V, HR-V
Hyundai – Accent, Elantra, i30, ix35, Sante Fe
Kia – Cerato, Sportage
Mazda – CX-5, Mazda3
Mitsubishi – Lancer
Nissan – Dualis, Pulsar, X-Trail
Toyota – Aurion, Camry, Corolla, Prius
Volkswagen – Golf, Jetta, Passat
UberXL Dodge – Journey
Fiat – Freemont
Ford – Territory
Holden – Captiva
Honda – Odyssey
Hyundai – Santa Fe, iMax
Isuzu – MU-X
Kia – Carnival, Sorento, Rondo
Land Rover – Discovery
LDV – G10 (7 seaters)
Mazda – CX-9
Mitsubishi – Outlander, Pajero
Nissan – X-Trail, Pathfinder, Dualis, Patrol
Toyota – Kluger, Prado, Tarago, Land Cruiser, Prius V
Volkswagen – Multivan
UberBLACK Audi – A6, A8, Q7
Bentley – All
BMW – 5 Series, 7 Series, X5
Cadillac – Escalade
Chrysler – 300
Holden – Caprice, Statesman
Hyundai – Genesis (must be custom-fitted with the Genesis, not Hyundai, badge above the rear number plate)
Jaguar – XF, XJ
Land Rover – Range Rover Sport (Other models are not accepted)
Lexus – ES, GS, LS, RX
Maserati – Ghibli, Quattroporte
Mercedes-Benz – E-Class, GL-Class, ML-Class, R-Class, S-Class
Porsche – Cayenne, Panamera
Rolls Royce – All
Tesla – Model S, Model X
UberLUX Audi – A8 (D4/3rd gen.)
Bentley – all
BMW – 7-Series (F01/F02)
Cadillac – Escalade
Jaguar – XF, XJ
Lexus – LS
Maserati – Ghibli, Quattroporte
Mercedes-Benz – S-Class (W221, W222)
Rolls Royce – all
Tesla – Model S, Model X
UberSUV Audi – Q7
BMW – X5
Cadillac – Escalade
Land Rover – Range Rover Sport
Mercedes-Benz – GL-Class, R-Class, V-Class
Tesla – Model X
Last Updated on November 10, 2019
Category Driver Guide


OMAR · April 6, 2022 at 11:34 am

I bought a jeep grand Cherokee 2018 model yesterday and registered it with uber after i submitted pink slip,Rego and insurance and the car is under finance didn’t even made the first payment for finance. after uber accepted the car and started to drive, i have received email today saying i can’t drive this car model
and i don’t know what should i do now. please urgent help. here is uber email to me:
Your vehicle does not meet Uber’s vehicle safety standard

It looks like one of the vehicles you recently uploaded does not meet Uber’s vehicle safety standard which came into effect 1 October 2019. This means that your vehicle is not eligible to receive trip requests, and will be deleted.

To drive using the Uber Driver app, your vehicle must:

Have a 5 Star ANCAP safety rating or;
Be exempted under Uber’s vehicle exemption policy

You can find more information about Uber’s vehicle safety policy here.

Ineligible car? No problem

Whilst your car doesn’t meet our requirements, you can explore other options like rental and leasing solutions designed for ridesharing – head to the Uber Marketplace.

Learn more

    Greg · February 14, 2023 at 9:44 pm

    I’ve got a similar problem. Purchased a new car to replace my old car. My old car was a 2015 vehicle and had less tech and safety features than what I’m going to get in my new 2023 car. Yet the ironic thing is that my new 2023 car, even with more safety features and tech than my 2015 car is apparently only 4 star an ancap rated. So go figure. If my 2015 model wasn’t written off, I’d still be allowed to drive it, yet not a new 2023 vehicle with more safety technology and feature. How crazy is that!

    Greg · February 14, 2023 at 9:48 pm

    Crazy isn’t it? I used to do uber in a 2015 model 4 door vehicle which was unfortunately written off last year. I purchased a new 4 door car with loads more safety features and tech than my old car and uber won’t approve the vehicle because apparently it’s not 5 star ancap rated. The irony is that I’d still be allowed to drive my old vehicle on the uber app if it hadn’t been written off with far less safety tech and features than the new car I’ve purchased. Go figure!

Ash · September 1, 2022 at 11:46 pm

Can MG ZV be drive for Uber and can come In which catogary

Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *